SSJR Logo

NOTE: SSJR.com uses cookies for browser optimization and analytics. Click here to learn about our privacy policy.

EmailPrintTexSize AText Size A+Text Size A++

We've a long, rich history.

It all began in the early 1900s when a well-regarded litigator argued several noteworthy patent cases. Roy Steward practiced in Washington, DC and New Haven, CT. As his practice grew, he eagerly welcomed his two sons, Don and Merrill, into the firm that became known as Steward & Steward.

About the same time, a successful patent practitioner in NYC coerced his son, John Blair, an English major at Dartmouth College, to join the world of protecting inventions. With no technical experience, he obliged his father by attending Fordham Law School and followed in his father’s footsteps. While in NY, John met Richard Spencer, the Assistant Commissioner of Patents in the 1930s, and was immediately impressed with his ability to not only uphold the law, but to make changes to the way patents and trademarks are protected. In 1955, Blair & Spencer formed a partnership and moved the NYC office to Connecticut. It was at this point that the international capabilities of the firm began to be recognized. Spencer, who had a French wife and an office in Paris, established a loyal following of European clientele. In fact, Spencer was appointed by the U.S. government to set up the modern German patent system.

In 1959, Ronald St. Onge joined the firm which included the partners of Blair, Spencer, Buckles, and Cesari. Since Cesari had studied electrical engineering at MIT and received his law degree from Harvard, he opened up a Boston office and expanded the firm into the practice area of high technology. The Boston division was spun off in 1966 and Blair retired in 1968.

Meanwhile, back in Stamford CT with offices in NYC, the firm continued its focus on patent, trademark, copyright and related antitrust and trade matters. In 1970, Harry Mayers, the former chief patent counsel at General Electric joined the firm. The international clientele continued to grow with the addition of Louis Reens, a native of The Netherlands, in 1974. At this time, the firm officially merged with Steward & Steward of New Haven, CT. In 1977, Al Johnston joined as a partner and the name of the firm officially became St. Onge Steward Johnston & Reens. To keep it simple and avoid any more confusion due to partner name additions or eliminations, we simply call ourselves SSJR.

No matter what the name on the letterhead, the principles of the firm remain the same. The firm has always focused exclusively on protecting the intellectual property of our clients and we pride ourselves in doing it efficiently with integrity and passion.

986 Bedford Street, Stamford, Connecticut 06905-5619      +1 203 324-6155